It is certain that the monuments of the ancient sanctuary were preserved entirely until the 4th century A.D. It is also speculated that their destruction began at the start of the 5th century A.D. and this conclusion derives from the excavation works that were carried out in the North-Western side of the hill. There, the foundations of buildings were found, whose function is still to be determined. The date of the particular foundations can be placed with relative certainty in the period from the 6th century A.D. and afterwards, as is shown by the style according to which they were constructed and the distinct resemblances they share with corresponding buildings in Sparta. In the same region, section of a Hermean stele was revealed, that had been used as building material for the manufacturing of a pipe. According to its inscription, it was made in the 4th century A.D. It is a happy coincidence that the lost upper section of the stele was discovered in the warehouses of the Archaeological Museum of Sparta. Finally it was proven that this fragment had been found in a field near Amykles in 1890, during the excavation works directed by Tsountas. With the aid of Inscriptiones Graecae it was therefore possible to read the information that had been inscribed. Thus, it was learned that the person mentioned on the stele, Sextus Eudamon Onasikrates, was, inter alia, a priest and agonothetes of the Hyakinthia. In another part of the same pipe of later antiquity, the unique preserved base of a Doric column was found. It is speculated that, during the Byzantine period or even later on, simple pit graves were placed on the upper level of the hill, while chamber tombs, that had already been discovered by Fiechter, were carved on its eastern side.
page revision: 15, last edited: 17 Jan 2013 15:11